Darth Vadar


Tackling a slightly bigger project then my last attempt I have started to imitate the fight scene between Darth Vadar and what would late become Luke Skywalker. 

Initially, the first thing that jumped out at me in this image was the use of colour. Compared to the desert image, this scene uses darkness to connote the feeling power and emotions in the characters. As his cape reaches out into the image dark tendrils seem to consume the light allowing Darth Vadars power to grow. 

Obviously bigger in size and stature Darth Vadar leers over Luke in an intimidating  display of power. Notably he actually seems to move from the background as his stance begins to invade the middle ground and threaten to consume the foreground where the protagonist is left, on the back foot. Much like the biblical scene of David vs. Goliath the two seem impossibly ill matched. Yet we know who wins that grudge match. 

Similar to his other works, the highlight in the subjects features, clothes and weapons help to breath life into the image and create expression. It is this I have been trying to work on. 

Admittedly this piece is a working progress and will take me a little longer to complete. 

My biggest learn from this piece was: patience. I began to get quite frustrated at the piece as it seemed not to come together and I was struggling with the proportions. One thing I did do differently was I did not lay a structure down before to help with the proportions. Instead, this time, I tried with a general outline to mark the positions of the characters. I did this because there seemed to be a lot going on and I wanted to mark out to heir movements appropriately in comparison to each other. I think going forward I will do this along with a basic skeleton structure. This will help to capture the movement of multiple subjects alongside their accurate proportions. 

Eventually I want to move on to adding colour too and add some new dimension into the fold. But I will only begin to explore with this once I feel comfortable about size and dimensions and proportions. 

Leave a comment