C3P0

I have been looking into some concept artists to try and develop my own style through practicing by repeating masterpieces of professionals. I love Star Wars and to start this long journey I thought it only fitting to begin here. 

The first piece I began to explore was the above C3PO. I think the picture itself balances loneliness and vulnerability with wonder. I think the style is very Forbidden Planet/Fritz Lang’s-esque. The smooth lines along with the sad expressionless face helps to bring this out. The colours on the other hand help to explore the aspects of wonder and awes, especially the golden yellows that connote excitement. 
Looking at the image I understand a lot of loneliness. My brain keeps reverting to imagery of Adam, the first man from biblical stories and how the feeling of isolation and wonder intertwine. Ultimately, the main subject details a fear and the pressure of being alone, but the sci-fi elements give a sense of power and advancement, and the wonder that comes with the responsibility. Like children separated from their parents this image has that sense of vulnerability, and promise. Obviously the R2-D2 unit helps to add a level of comedy to the scene as it seems to be deploying all its limbs in a scene of panic help to filter some of the fear into the background. I think it is easy to say that this relationship between the two characters and the fear and comic relief they both document in their personalities is one aspect of the franchise that very much existed today. Yet, I believe this initial image really begins to explore the vulnerability and weight of their plight. 

In my attempt to recreate the C3PO character I wanted to focus on the detail created with just light and darkness of the one colour used. I was very impressed with the cold steeliness of the metal McQuarrie conveyed yet the character still had a lot of life.

My biggest learns were the focus on shading. I took to the task with just a pencil and eraser and realised the eraser added detail just as much as the pencil. I eventually ended up shading most of the image to varying degrees and used the eraser to help showcase the highlights. 

I am most proud about the levelling the various proportions of the image. Historically, I have struggled with proportion sizes in my drawings , finding that limbs to bodies do not match. For this picture I drew a base sculpture made of straight lines and circles for joints. This helped me to position the proportions quite easily whilst maintaining the flow of the picture. I think ensuring the right proportions has allowed me to encapture the movement of the character without having to include any background or foreground imagery. The only proportion I did struggle with is the head, which I will aim to focus on in coming drawings. 

Leave a comment